PDA

View Full Version : Anyone know about ORION LIGHTING?

franknbeans
Jan. 31, 2010, 06:43 AM
Is it worth the extra cost? Have a friend renovating a pole barn for horses, and wondering about this for stalls/aisles.

Any knowledge is helpful! Thanks!

franknbeans
Jan. 31, 2010, 07:15 PM
Bump! Hoping to find someone who knows something about these out there! Thanks!

sixpoundfarm
Jan. 31, 2010, 10:22 PM
I have a couple and I like them. They come on quickly when its cold, and are certainly bright.

Thats about all I know. LOL!

franknbeans
Feb. 1, 2010, 06:55 AM
Thanks Tracy-will pass it along!

tcgelec
Feb. 1, 2010, 07:31 AM
I am an electrical contractor who specializes in barns/horse facilities located on Long Island.

I'm not sure if Orion makes anything else now, but when I experimented with them about 5 years ago, they only had the round "flying saucer" type. The big selling point at that time was price...they were substantially cheaper than anything else out there that was rated vaporproof and thus suitable for a barn.

The performance was adequate, but I found that the aesthetics were not popular. In other words, they looked weird! The other downside was that the round circline lamps used (which are expensive) had a habit of becoming dislodged if they were mounted below a hay loft (concussion from flying hay bales).

At that time, you had to buy direct, and they were not the easiest company to do business with. They may have taken care of these issues over the past couple of years, but I have gone back to the tried and true, linear vaporproof (high output) fluorescent fixtures, in either 4' or 8' length. The prices have come down on them, and they are very reliable and durable and are sold through electrical distributors. Parts are readily available also.

I am told that the linear vaporproof fluorescents are becoming available for use with with T5 lamps...the very skinny (5/8") tubes that are extremely bright and energy efficient.

Hope this helps.