PDA

View Full Version : Gardeners: Impart your wisdom! Questions from a Newb

Heinz 57
Jan. 29, 2010, 06:22 PM
I am in a position this year to have my very very own garden - and I'd like to utilize my side 'yard' to plant a vegetable garden this spring. I have limited experience with gardening, and what I do have is mostly with flowers - so I implore you to please, PLEASE impart some of your wisdom upon me!

I'm thinking I'd like to do a couple raised beds, and hope to grow some tomatoes, carrots, potatoes, peppers, green beans, corn and maybe a few others depending on how much space (and time!) I have. I have a friend with a small farm garden and these are things she has had success growing. If there are others that grow well in my climate, or if I've mentioned something that has a hard time growing here, let me know.

Any tips/thoughts/wisdom would be welcome. I know its early yet, but I'd like to start planning out what I need to build, what to plant and where, and when to plant - before the season gets started. I'm doing lots of research about vegetable gardening in the PNW and the previously mentioned friend will be available to help as well.

I want to go with raised beds because unforunately the soil around our property is largely red clay - so any help with that would be great.

LauraKY
Jan. 29, 2010, 06:35 PM
Google the lasagna method for raised beds. Really easy.

To grow corn you need at least 10 feet and 4 rows for fertilization.