PDA

View Full Version : Trailering for Dummies?

whitewolfe001
Jan. 28, 2010, 12:44 PM
I am a total newbie when it comes to purchasing, hooking up or driving a trailer. Usually I've just always trailered with the boarding barn, or friends, or hired haulers.

I don't know the first thing about any of this. I don't even know what I need to know! I don't even have a truck yet.

Are there any really great "trailering for dummies" resources online? I've read some articles but a lot of them are assuming I already have a clue, like "buy a truck that has sufficient hauling/braking capacity". OK, well HOW do I know if it's capable enough to be safe?

I'm looking for a two horse trailer and truck to haul that safely.

Thanks for any tips!!!

Alagirl
Jan. 28, 2010, 12:53 PM
Well, you come here :cool:

First, what are you hauling
for what purpose and how long, both the length of ride and duration of stay

That determins what you need in the trailer

The you look at the trailer you need and you match it up with a truck that can pull (and stop) it that matches your topographic situation (hills vs flats) and your pocket book.

Clear as mud, no? :lol:

ChocoMare
Jan. 28, 2010, 01:13 PM
Get a copy of this book: The Complete Guide to Buying, Maintaining, and Servicing a Horse Trailer (http://www.equispirit.com/info/horsebook.htm)

;)

asterix
Jan. 28, 2010, 01:14 PM
Here's three things you can do to get started:

1. Tag along (sorry, bad trailer joke) with a friend who is an experienced hauler -- ask questions, look at all the "bits and pieces" -- this will help demystify it for you. See if she'll give you some lessons in a parking lot or somewhere with the trailer empty. Even if it's not the exact set up you will end up with, it'll help you get your feet wet!

2. Get Neva Scheve's book, which is something like A complete guide to buying, towing, etc etc a horse trailer. [edited to add, this is the one chocomare recommended!!]