PDA

View Full Version : PREbiotics vs. PRObiotics? What's the diff? (Was Diamond V Yeast)

retrofit
Jan. 22, 2010, 02:20 PM
EDIT: I was originally asking about Diamond V Yeast but the broader question became, Why feed PREbiotics or PRObiotics? How do you know which is indicated?

Most feeds/supps contain PRObiotics. I am supplementing 1 horse with Probios as well. How would I know if she should have PREbiotics instead?

(Original post below)
What the subject says ... Is Diamond V Yeast different from probiotics?
Does anyone here use it? Why did you start using it, and what is your opinion?

BuddyRoo
Jan. 22, 2010, 02:43 PM
Yes. And oddly enough I studied up on this because my next door neighbor wanted me to buy it FOR HIM to take. The equine formula was cheaper than the human one. I hauled a 50lb bag of the stuff to MI from IA last time I went home as there was a dealer in my home town. Neighbor is on some wacko mailing list where they get all these "live longer" suggestions.

Probiotics contain bacterial cultures.

Yeast can be food for these bacteria. If you read the Diamond V site, that's their whole pitch.

Now here's the rub FOR ME. The purpose of the hind gut bacteria is to help with digestion and increase the body's ability to utilize more of the food you're putting in. So if you "feed" the bacteria this yeast, then by my logic, they are not able to hang out and digest the stuff they're supposed to.

I dunno. I'm not on the bandwagon just yet.

Here's a link to their site w/ an explanation:
http://www.diamondv.com/species/equine/equine_different.htm

cloudyandcallie
Jan. 22, 2010, 02:53 PM
Thanks BR. A lot of people use it but I've not used it yet. My horse and dogs and cats eat yoghurt, so we'll stay with that.

Leather
Jan. 22, 2010, 03:20 PM
Diamond V yeast is more of a "prebiotic" type product than a probiotic.