View Full Version : When does the awful DMSO smell go away?

Jan. 20, 2010, 09:18 PM
I just brought home a mare who spent three weeks at the university vet hospital. One of her many treatments was DMSO. I don't recall exactly what day it was given, but I think it was Thursday or Fridayish. (It's been a LONG three weeks.)

So.... how long until the horrible smell goes away? I can't believe how strong it is. I can smell it 30 feet from her stall. It can't be pleasant for her either! I have zero experience with DMSO -- I've never had any reason to use it, or have a vet use it previously.

ex-racer owner
Jan. 20, 2010, 09:23 PM
I had a horse get DMSO years ago. He received it either IV, IM, or in a bag of fluids- I can't remember now. Anyhow, you could smell him ten stalls down! I can remember that onion-y smell to this day. It did take a few days for the whole barn to be able to take a collective breath of fresh air :lol:

I hope your horse is on the road to recovery.

Jan. 20, 2010, 09:30 PM
I'd put DMSO on my horse's hock / stifle and the smell would go away quickly...it was mainly just when I opened the jar that I wanted to die :lol: Not sure about when it's given IV or anything though.

Jan. 20, 2010, 11:01 PM
If it was IV it takes a while to go away completely, but it will begin to fade and be gone completely in a week or two.

Jan. 21, 2010, 01:45 AM
Haha! I work at a horse-pital, and you can tell before you walk in the door when a horse is getting DMSO. What a nasty, sickly sweet kind of smell. It will probably take about a week for it to mostly go away, maybe a little more.

I do always wonder if it tastes as bad for the horses as it smells to us?

Jan. 21, 2010, 01:11 PM
A few days at least... just be thankful you don't work at a "horse hospital" and have a row of stalls filled w/ horses all hooked up w/ IV's w/ DMSO :lol:. Not a great thing to walk into at 5:30 in the morning :lol:!