PDA

View Full Version : getting students to think and participate

nlk
Jan. 18, 2010, 12:24 PM
What do you all think of giving your students "homework" something along the lines of a synopses of the lesson (is that the right word:() or having them make an entry into a notebook before they leave on things they need to work on for the next lesson?

Thanks!:)

blackcat95
Jan. 18, 2010, 12:34 PM
I'm not a trainer but I'm a student and I already do that, just in my head. I used to write things down on my own, but I would always not have time, so I just sort of file things in my head that I need to work on so when I'm not lessoning I can work on them. It works, and I think most riders do that automatically because what's the point of lessons if you can't remember what you did last time and the trainer has to reteach everything?

The Centaurian
Jan. 18, 2010, 12:35 PM
Depending on the age of the student, you an suggest 1-3 things to work on "until next time." Little kids can practice "heels down" on a step or curb, for example, and older kids can manage more complex/vague tasks like "work on getting her on the bit" or "work on your transitions in x gait." Adults may need a lighter touch, many would not appreciate "assignments" but would possibly welcome "something to think about." I personally keep a riding journal for my own memory aid, but I would balk at anyone TELLING me to keep one.

TrakeGirl
Jan. 18, 2010, 12:40 PM
A show barn I used to be at actually sold lesson notebooks.

She took 3 ring binders and personalized them to the farm. Then made xerox copies of personalized pages - it was a form and there was a page for each lesson. Date, time, horse you were riding, weather, indoor/outdoor - you filled in all the various lines. Then I think there was a spot for - what we did...warmup...flat...jumping...what I learned...things to work on...etc.

It was not mandatory - she found compliance was much better in folks that actually WANTED to buy the thing and do it.