PDA

View Full Version : Questions about Rolex

LaraNSpeedy
Jan. 18, 2010, 10:30 AM
OK my life has centered around HJ and then dressage. I am still fairly new to eventing.... so I have a few questions about Rolex:

1. I am taking my riding students (ages 10-15) to see the XC and Stadium. That is on Sat and Sun. Tickets are not on sale yet. Is it worth paying extra to watch Stadium from the grandstand?

2. Not sure the set up - I did watch Badmitten YEARS ago when I lived in Europe and did not pay attention to anything but the big riders - meaning I did not pay attention to how it was set up level-wise. In CA, I got handed a gelding that had competed at Rolex - I had pictures of him doing it - with a rider wearing her number and it said Rolex. But I know he was not an advanced eventing horse. At least - I thought he was just like Novice or Training level.... What are the levels competing at Rolex?

THANKS!

Foxhall
Jan. 18, 2010, 10:40 AM
Rolex Kentucky is a 4* and only a 4*. 1998 was the first year that they ran the event as a 4* and they might of had a 3* division with it for the first couple years. Before '98 it was a 3* event

Sorry I can't help with your question about grandstand seating as I have never been to Rolex.

You can go to the USEA website and search for registered horses. That will show you all of your horses' results from 2006 on. I am pretty sure that if you go to Rolex Kentucky website, they have a results archive of previous years

CookiePony
Jan. 18, 2010, 10:40 AM
Hi Lara, here's the most recent thread on Rolex tips. http://www.chronofhorse.com/forum/showthread.php?t=238412

The only level offered now is a CCI**** (very difficult/ international Advanced). But in the past there have been other levels. On the website you can see past winners of all of the divisions.
http://www.rk3de.org/previous_winners.html
http://www.rk3de.org/previous_winners2.html

Kairoshorses
Jan. 18, 2010, 10:42 AM
Tickets are on sale. Go to

http://www.rk3de.org/