PDA

View Full Version : help with riding the large and lazy horse!

hunterEQhorse
Jan. 17, 2010, 10:18 AM
I've been riding a percheron/thoroughbred mare for about seven months now, and she's nothing like any other horse I've been on. She's a challenge because she is so big and lazy and I constantly fight with her to do even the simplest things

number one, she's a horrible turner. Yes I understand she is big and cannot make sharp turns that well, but even just turning a corner requires my whole body to help and it makes a minimal effect.

number two, she falls to the inside no matter how much leg, spur, and rein i apply to drive her straight. This might seem weird, but I am 16 years old and 5'10 with the longest legs imaginable but I have no muscle to me, and my leg doesn't help when I try to push her out.

number three, she is CONSTANTLY pulling on my hands and pulling down. I try to get her on her rear, but it just ends up in a huge fight between us. And what makes this situation worse? my trainer puts a neck stretcher on her.

and last but not least, number four: I cannot sit her canter, no matter how much i attempt to. It's like when ever I try to sit, my leg scrunches up and my heel comes up and it's just a mess. I always end up going into half seat (which is how i was originally taught to canter or hack a horse out) and my new trainer seems to protest that.

I'm sorry this is long, but I'm just frustrated and I want some help. If anyone has any answers they would be greatly appreciated, thank you!

*Liz*
Jan. 17, 2010, 11:08 AM