PDA

View Full Version : What supplies needed as a groom

Koniucha
Jan. 14, 2010, 11:47 AM
I am looking to become a freelance groom and I would like to know what grooming supplies others have. I am wondering if you have your own supplies or use the owners/riders. TIA!

Addison
Jan. 15, 2010, 07:21 AM
I think for the most part you would use the rider/owner's equipment. However, I would have a fully loaded grooming box in my car with lots of extra towels...in case the rider does not have what you need to get the job done.

Most big time barns are going to have "their way" of doing most things related to horse care and therefore woould supply their own stuff.

I'm just curious, are you looking for work at one day shows or more along the lines of working at a series or season of shows?

Koniucha
Jan. 15, 2010, 10:36 AM
I am looking to do this for one day or weekend shows for now since I am also a full time student and a mother, but I will see what happens. I would like to do more than just hunter/jumper such as dressage, western, morgan, etc. Thanks for replying, I didn't think anyone was going to!

findeight
Jan. 15, 2010, 10:53 AM
Due to the risk of spreading numerous skin conditions, yes, even on show horses in good barns, they are going to want you to use their brushes and grooming tools on their horses.

If you do use your own, you must never use them on horses from different barns and, technically, should not even use them on different horses without a good cleaning in a bleach solution between horses. That is totally impractical, of course. Use theirs on their horses.

As mentioned above, each owner will have their own favorites and preferences for grooming using their tools anyway.

Concentrate on outfitting yourself with several pairs of sturdy shoes so you can get out of wet ones, lots of pairs of socks, some kind of mud boot, several pairs of gloves, spare shirt, layers for colder weather and so forth.

Otherwise, just bring yourself and an iron work ethic.