PDA

View Full Version : Max Control Snaffle bit

tigrrlily04
Jan. 14, 2010, 08:59 AM
Does anyone have any experience with the Max Control Snaffle bit made by Horse and More (a division of Herm Sprenger)? The item description states: "The bit lies well in the horse’s mouth when the horse is working properly. However, when the horse opposes the rider’s hands it becomes a correction or training bit and locks at a certain angle, thus becomes a straight bar bit." I'm looking for something for a horse who gets a little strong/unbalanced jumping and going cross country. This is the item link: http://www.dressageextensions.com/ProductDetail.asp?KEY=1131 Thanks!

wildlifer
Jan. 14, 2010, 09:32 AM
Interesting. I have no experience with them, but wouldn't the bit locking just give them something solid to brace against and be even stronger? With my gelding who can fall on the forehand jumping, I really like an elevator to just lightly pick him up.

eponacowgirl
Jan. 14, 2010, 09:51 AM
Interesting. I have no experience with them, but wouldn't the bit locking just give them something solid to brace against and be even stronger? With my gelding who can fall on the forehand jumping, I really like an elevator to just lightly pick him up.

I was riding a horse in the Stubben version of this bit and that was my experience. He'd get strong, the bit would lock, and all of the sudden, I was SOL.

smokescreen
Jan. 14, 2010, 09:57 AM
I also have the Stubben version, I use it on my gelding every day it doesn't seem to make any difference at all. He is the same on this bit that he was on his french link snaffle.

tigrrlily04
Jan. 14, 2010, 10:18 AM