PDA

View Full Version : Saddle advice for a new adult rider

OldNewbie
Jan. 12, 2010, 10:06 AM
Hi everyone,

I just started riding at age 41 a few months ago and have been having a lot of fun. Just did my first jump last week! At my instructor's suggestion, I've decided to get a saddle. I've got a budget of about $1000, although I'd love to spend less. I originally considered a Wintec synthetic saddle, but my instructor and others at my barn nearly fainted at the suggestion. ;)

I've read a lot here about used saddles, but there are so many brands and so many factors it appears very daunting to a total beginner like me. Also, $1,000 seems a bit low for some of the brands that are frequently mentioned here, even used. I visited Dover recently and this Circuit Pro (http://www.doversaddlery.com/product.asp?pn=LA-15455&EID=X1810001&TID=CHRS) seemed like a good fit. But I was curious what folks on the COH forums thought of this saddle and if anyone had other suggestions.

Thanks for your help!

BAC
Jan. 12, 2010, 10:16 AM
The Dover Circuit saddles have a good reputation, why not get a demo and try it out? Also, ride in as many different saddles as you can before you purchase anything, can you ride in other people's saddles at your current barn so you can get an idea of what you like?

You should be able to get a good quality used saddle within your budget. A used Beval saddle is another good option, or an older Pessoa. I would prefer a good quality used saddle over a new Wintec, I just don't like the looks or feel of synthetics.

Trixie
Jan. 12, 2010, 10:20 AM
Most of the circuit pros I've seen feel like plastic. Avoid anything that feels or looks like plastic.