PDA

View Full Version : Do you use a figure 8

enjoytheride
Jan. 9, 2010, 08:05 PM
If so why? Because it's trendy and that's what eventers wear or for a specific reason it helps fix?

I'm thinking about gifting myself a figure 8 attachment when I move up to real live fences eventing and because I think it'll make my horse look more badass and less cute. Pretty selfish reasons obviously, but she also can be resistent in her jaw and chomps on the bit a lot when nervous or tense so.

eponacowgirl
Jan. 9, 2010, 08:14 PM
I rode/ride old mare and my current gelding both in a figure 8 for all three phases. The mare would lock her jaw and gape her mouth if I wasn't PERFECT (and I'm not perfect, so...) and it kept the bit steadier in her mouth. She was in a mullen happy mouth, so anything we could do to keep things soft and steady for her, the better she did. She would cross her jaw frequently as well, so it was always on at shows. Right as I was getting ready to sell her I started riding her in a regular noseband, but she would always be pretty heavy in it- but I wanted to make sure it wasn't a crutch.

My gelding doesn't really need it. I could ride him in anything, but I do like the way it looks on him and it does help me soften his jaw dressage and jumping. It just kind of gives me a quick one up.

Peggy
Jan. 9, 2010, 08:42 PM
I use one at home on my hunter/eq horse b/c I feel that it gives me a touch more control and reminds him not to open his mouth. Don't use a flash b/c I am trying to avoid giving him dressage flashbacks:lol: Besides, it looks cool!

scubed
Jan. 9, 2010, 08:47 PM
I have used one for both the steadier in the bridle reason and the slightly better paying attention reason. I am using one on the current youngster for jumping, but probably don't really need it on him, still I think the steadier the better.

Amchara
Jan. 9, 2010, 11:03 PM
Ponies do look more badass with them, at least mine does.