PDA

View Full Version : Knee Pinching..oooh the horrors

StevieandMelissa
Jan. 6, 2010, 12:41 PM
Hello everyone! I'm new here. Before I begin, I think some brief info on my riding experience may be beneficial. I've been riding for 8-9 years now, leased a horse for one year, and finally bought a horse several years ago. My horse is an absolutely wonderful OTTB, 7 years old.

The problem: As of late, I've become a knee pincher. I never used to have this problem and I don't know how in the world I developed it, but it is awful! My trainer suggested riding a lot in two-point (which I've been doing). It has helped somewhat and I will continue to do it. However, it has also been suggested to me that I try riding with my stirrups tied to my girth for 3-4 rides in order to develop a proper feel in my leg. Would this be helpful? If yes, how would I attach my stirrups to my girth?

Also, any additional suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

luvs2ridewbs
Jan. 6, 2010, 01:38 PM
I would suggest riding without your stirrups and trying to keep your leg as long as possible. Really opening your knee angle until its correct without losing your hip and heel angles.

Petstorejunkie
Jan. 6, 2010, 01:41 PM
Is your horse particularly sensitive to leg cues? Was he a bit flighty when you got him?
You have to figure out why you started to effectively and permanently stop.

snaffle635
Jan. 6, 2010, 01:46 PM
Fellow knee pincher here!

I tied my stirrups for a few months! Tie it with something that will break in case of an emergency. You can use baling twine, but I prefer leather spur straps.

Fasten the spur strap around the inside branch of the stirrup iron, then thread it through your girth. Make it loose enough to allow your toe to turn out, but not soloose that your leg can swing back.

I will feel really weird at first and you'll probably be sore. You'll be building new muscle memory and eventually this leg position will feel normal.