PDA

View Full Version : Trakehners- what do you think?

Catomine
Jan. 3, 2010, 12:35 PM
I have been leasing a Trakehner gelding for about 5 months now. I absolutely adore him and to me, he represents a wonderful breed exceptional for hunters, eq, and dressage. In the past however, I was aware of the breed's ill-repute, and I'm wondering where this stems from and if this is the consideration in the modern horse world today? I have even heard mentioned that they are not considered 'real' warmbloods (of course this is extreme bias from one individual's opinion), and to be sub-par to other prominent breeds like Oldenburgs and DWB, Hanoverian, etc.. To my knowledge the Trakehner breed is the oldest WB to date.
Anyways, I'm just interested in different people's views on the breed. Either way I still think my gelding is amazing, (and he is, used to get offers in medals classes of over 80k) regardless of the breed's reputation, I was just interested in some more insight in general. Thanks all!

dutchmike
Jan. 3, 2010, 12:46 PM
I love my Trak. They are just not easy horses. They have personality and don't take any crap. Treat them wioth respect and they will try their heart out for you. Treat them like a machine and they will tell you to stuff it

CBoylen
Jan. 3, 2010, 01:08 PM
The Trakehners I have been around have all been easy and kind, so I haven't ever had a negative experience with their temperament, and I rarely hear people say that they have. However, it's a very rare Trakehner that has the jumping style for the hunter ring. They tend to be good movers and lovely to look at, but people avoid them because it's so rare to find one that uses its shoulder well enough over the jumps. Hollywood, though, was an example of a good-jumping Trakehner, and I know there have been others. Just harder to find and riskier to take a chance on.

Catomine
Jan. 3, 2010, 01:13 PM