View Full Version : (Another) Galloping question...

Jan. 2, 2010, 05:04 PM
I just read a post regarding how to properly gallop on course...however most of it was explaining about horses who tend to get heavy or how to get a horse uphill. I have a very compact, uphill thoroughbred and I tend to have a lot of trouble getting him to, for one, stay in a fairly straight path without swapping leads, etc and also getting him to stretch out rather than just move...up. I also have trouble keeping him connected, his head is usually up and focusing too much on his surroundings rather than wear he needs to go, however he does tend to settle at the very end of a long course. Any tips on how to fix this? I feel like he just needs experience to settle down a bit, but how can I do this between events?

Jan. 2, 2010, 06:16 PM
I'm no expert on galloping - in fact, I posted a thread last spring asking about galloping for my mare! - but your horse's behavior sounds pretty familiar.

My mare did all the lead-swapping, unfocused stuff. Is there anywhere you can get to just gallop a little on your own, outside of events? What fixed it for us was just getting out in a big field a few times and getting comfortable with what we were doing. Our steering improved by leaps and bounds those first few sessions. The first time we went out, you could forget about any straight lines! By the fifth time or so, we were much better.

Carol Ames
Jan. 2, 2010, 06:29 PM
Have you tried a shadowroll?

Jan. 2, 2010, 06:52 PM