PDA

View Full Version : Any USPC or CPC A level pony clubbers?

peanuts
Jan. 1, 2010, 10:03 AM
Hi there,

I'm a CPC member going for my HA this year, starting with the written test early this month. I have reached that "total panic" phase of studying, (:eek::D:eek::D:eek:) and I was wondering if there are any USPC or CPC pony clubbers out there who either have their A or are attempting it this year. I would love to hear what your favourite resources are/were, any guidance as to the layout of the test, or any other words of wisdom.....

Many thanks! :)

WakeRider
Jan. 1, 2010, 07:59 PM
took my HA USPC test this past year, i found the best resource was thehorse.com they have a ton of great information!

shawneeAcres
Jan. 1, 2010, 08:04 PM
I am a graduate H-A pony clubber from back in the 70's, all I can say it the test was EXTREMELY intense bt I loved every minute of it! There is SO MUCH material covered, jsut read and retain all you can in all aspects of horse care, training, teaching, veterinary, feeding etc! Be CONFIDENT in all aspects of the testing don't be tentative. Remeber there is not ONE right way to do anything with horses, but if you can back up what you do with good reasoning it will get you far!

KSevnter
Jan. 1, 2010, 08:42 PM
I found the illustrated veterinary encyclopedia to be really helpful when I took it 16 years ago, and I still reference it a lot. I made flash cards for all the vet, conformation, nutrition information and that worked well for me but everyone is different.

Really practice your lunging that is something that is failed fairly often. Lunge any type of horse you can get your hands on green/experienced etc and try and find a graduate A to help you prep.

Here is the link to the encyclopedia, it is expensive new but there are used copies on amazon. Good luck.

http://www.amazon.com/Illustrated-Veterinary-Encyclopedia-Horsemen/dp/0935842039

SimplyIdle
Jan. 1, 2010, 11:48 PM