PDA

View Full Version : Recommended reading for a H/J before a WS at for an eventer?

Beau Cheval
Dec. 29, 2009, 09:13 PM
Title pretty much says it:

What books/materials/videos do you recommend I read/watch before I go to work as a WS for an eventer (my background is almost entirely H/J)? I think I need a dressage and xc for dummies type education and then from there to learn about the intricacies so that at least I'm in a position to learn productively and learn things I would not be able to learn on my own while I'm actually at my job.

I have a friend who does dressage and I am thinking I will ask her for some "lessons" before I go, or maybe take some real dressage lessons. XC is going to have to wait however...no space for xc courses on long island!

Thanks!

RugBug
Dec. 29, 2009, 11:00 PM
Jimmy Wofford's book called Training the Three Day Event Horse and Rider. It's good stuff for any discipline, IMO

ace**
Dec. 29, 2009, 11:57 PM
One of my favourite dressage books is "Common Sense Dressage" by Sally O'Conner
http://www.amazon.com/Common-Sense-Dressage-Illustrated-Guide/dp/0939481219/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1262148709&sr=8-1

And the German Equestrian Federation's "Principles of Riding" covers basics for dressage, showjumping, cross country
http://www.amazon.com/Principles-National-Equestrian-Federations-Complete/dp/1872119719/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1262148907&sr=1-1

Just noticed that Sally O'Conner also wrote a book called "Practical Eventing". I haven't read it, but if its anything like her dressage book, its probably great!
http://www.amazon.com/Practical-Eventing-Revised-Sally-OConnor/dp/0939481529/ref=pd_sim_b_3

CatchMeIfUCan
Dec. 30, 2009, 12:05 AM