PDA

View Full Version : Proper Attire for Unrated Hunter Shows

KatherineC
Dec. 29, 2009, 07:53 AM
I am new to the hunter ponies and I will be taking my 9yo daughter to some unrated shows in the spring. Can someone advise me on the attire requirements? Got the brown tack covered but need to know about everything else. Thanks

Rockfish
Dec. 29, 2009, 08:08 AM
can't go wrong with tan breeches, navy jacket and white show shirt. Also don't forget the garters, brown, to match brown paddock boots.

Ty2003
Dec. 29, 2009, 08:17 AM
Hi there - I dress/prepare the same way whether the show is rated or unrated. The only difference for me is whether or not I braid (yes for rated, usually no for unrated - depends on the show). If your daughter is showing ponies, she should wear jodphurs with knee straps and pant straps, and paddock boots (DEFINITELY needs the knee straps - I really dislike jods with no straps - looks unfinished). Here's a good example of what this looks like put together: http://www.doversaddlery.com/product.asp?pn=X1-3516&ids=256025296

She should also wear a ratcatcher (show shirt - you can see the little girl in the photo above has one on), and a dark show jacket (unless she's wearing gray jods, then she could wear a gray jacket). Finish it with black gloves. She'll most likely have to wear an ASTM approved helmet - and the pony kids always look adorable with two braids with cute bows (but nothing TOO big - it's distracting). Other than that, just make sure everything is clean and well-fitted to the pony. The saddle pad should fit well (not too big - that also looks unfinished). Since it's unrated you probably won't need to braid, but be sure the mane and tail are neat and tidy.