PDA

View Full Version : What do I do when selling?

Jack16
Dec. 27, 2009, 07:12 PM
So I am selling a horse and have not owned him for very long but it's really important to me that he go to a great place. I have only owned 2 other horses in my life and leased all the rest. My first was one I raised who ended up being bought by a girl at my farm so there was no "process" there at all. The other one unfortunately had to be put down.

This is my first time really selling. Anyway, I have people coming to see him this weekend to try him and are very serious. They have all of their reservations set, etc. Well, now I have 3 other people who want to try him too this week.

I really like the people coming this weekend. They are really serious and I have spoken with the trainer, vet, mother, etc. I want to be a good horse person so when I end up in these situations, do I tell the others to wait because other people are interested or do I just let everyone try him and sell him to the first and best offer?

If I were buying I wouldn't want a horse sold that I was planning on visiting and was really serious about but at the same time I would understand if a horse was sold as that is why they are on the market.

Beau Cheval
Dec. 27, 2009, 07:21 PM
do I tell the others to wait because other people are interested or do I just let everyone try him and sell him to the first and best offer?

First offer or, if two come in simultaneously, best offer. That's a good situation to be in..much better than the alternative =)

shawneeAcres
Dec. 27, 2009, 07:25 PM