PDA

View Full Version : Spinoff: Neck strap question...

subk
Dec. 16, 2009, 09:13 AM
How many of you ride with a neck strap? I think they are great and I've got my daughter riding with one. Me? Not so much and I probably should be! How do you re-wire your brain to reach for one when you're having a "moment." I can't ever remember it's there when I ought to grab it...I'd be sunk if someone ever roached my horses' manes.

Hilary
Dec. 16, 2009, 09:23 AM
I started riding Star with a breastplate (hunt style) and it did take me a bit to figure out how/when to grab it but it totally works when she has her bucking/leaping moments.

Bucking straps didn't do anything because they are too loose - by the time it tightened up I was too far out of the tack to be saved! A neck strap for jumping I don't need. The breastplate (or yoke) sits within finger's grasp so I can grab it really fast and because it's near her withers when I grab it I get sucked into the saddle but my upper body can stay back. It actully seems to calm her down when I grab it- but probably because I'm sitting deeper. Racing folks use yokes to slow horses too, so it may have that effect as well.

A good cycle - I'm more secure, so I stay calm, so that calms her, so she leaps less.

AppJumpr08
Dec. 16, 2009, 09:29 AM
I actually prefer a neckstrap to grabbing my breastplate...
The neckstrap is higher up, so I can keep my hand out in front of me instead of right in front of my saddle :)

Jleegriffith
Dec. 16, 2009, 09:38 AM
I think sometimes I need two straps- one further up to be used as a jumping neck strap and the other far enough back that I can grab during the all hell is breaking loose moments. I have really short arms so the neck strap I use for jumping doesn't work when I need to lock myself into the saddle as it is to far forward for me to reach.