PDA

View Full Version : Horse Treat Recipe Request

Wonders12
Dec. 15, 2009, 04:34 AM
So I'm a poor broke college student who really wants to do something nice for her trainer and the WONDERFUL lesson horses who take care of me and the other riders week after week. :yes:

I was thinking about doing some homemade horse treats (as many as possible since she has many many horses) but I've never tried this before. I'm not a baker either, but can follow a recipe.

I've done some googling, but a lot of the recipes call for some type of grain. Since I don't have a horse of my own, I don't really want to go out and buy a whole bag of grain just to make some treats. (Plus, my non-horsey roommates may not like that in our kitchen :winkgrin:)

So I'm looking for an easy recipe with ingredients that can be found at a regular grocery store. Oh, and one that doesn't need to be refrigerated since there isn't one nearby at the barn.

Thanks!

AllWeatherGal
Dec. 15, 2009, 05:26 AM
Here's one w/out any horse-feed grain (all of them will have "grains"):
http://www.christmas-cookies.com/recipes/recipe116.horse-cookies.html

Look a little deeper. I just googled. You can buy the whole oats and bran at a variety of grocery stores.

However, the truth is you can buy cookies less expensively than you can make them. And I've never made any that the horses liked better than Mrs. Pastures. In fact, I've made recipes that only the ponies would eat.

That said, you could ask someone with horses to sell you a few cups of grain. An alternative to that is use whole oats, which may be found at health food stores (at a price, mind you).

Btw, many dogs like horse cookies, too!

hoopoe
Dec. 15, 2009, 09:16 AM
Here is mine

1 3/4 C apple sauce
1/4 C Molasses ( you can use feed grade molasses)

mix together

add 2 C crushed bran cereal
mix well and allow to moisten

add 2 C quick oatmeal

mix together, you might need your hands

you want a stiff dough, if it is wet add more oatmeal