PDA

View Full Version : What to Do About Long Spots

Bobblehead
Dec. 7, 2009, 01:29 PM
I'm a "baby" jumper - as in, working my way toward 2'3. I have a nice, quiet little horse who's extremely honest about her jumps. She's small and flat-gaited and I feel fairly confident on her (confidence is my issue). The only thing is that she prefers to take long spots rather than chip. At my lesson Saturday my instructor said I was ready to start working on adjusting her stride, but I'm not good at this yet. So yesterday in a practice ride, my mare took a couple of REALLY long spots - one had to be almost twice the correct distance. Although I stayed on and had some more successful jumps afterward, I obviously need to work on rhythm more. What's a good exercise for this? A ground pole one stride in front of the jump? Crossrails on a circle? Something else? I have no competitive aims, just want to keep it fun. I can trot jumps all day, can trot in and canter out of a line all day, but cantering a simple line is my challenge right now.

wildlifer
Dec. 7, 2009, 01:39 PM
A placing pole is a big help, both before and after the jump to teach your horse to put the jump in the middle of her bascule. Also, THE most important thing is to find a rhythm, commit to it, then WAIT for the jump to come to you. If you truly commit to a balanced rhythm, the spots will just happen. Most "mess-ups" happen because we just get in the way, trying to mess around with the horse and change the rhythm in front of the jump. Ground poles are great for practicing this, just laying out a ground pole course and focus on finding and keeping a rhythm (count it out loud, or sing it) and just ALLOWING the poles to fit into the rhythm without forcing anything.

Summit Springs Farm
Dec. 7, 2009, 02:39 PM