PDA

View Full Version : Does A Joint Supplement Actually Do Anything??

faluut42
Dec. 4, 2009, 05:38 PM
I know this thread should be in Horse Care but I wanted to talk to eventers mainly.

I just bought a 13 yr old TB mare. I have always had my event horses on joint supplements. Last event horse was 20 yrs old so you could see a little bit of diffrence when he was on a joint supplement. But for a horse that doesnt have any soundness issues, and is competeing at prelim. Do joint supplements do that much? And if they do, who much, and are they worth giving? Is it worth not giving a oral joint supplement and instead give adequan or legend?

I am a part time college student and paying for my own horses so anywhere I can spair to spend money is much needed.

I do think MSM works and notice a difference, but all the others, Cosequin, SmartFlex, ect., are they worth the $30-$50+ a month?

shawneeAcres
Dec. 4, 2009, 05:47 PM
MSM is the only feed thru joint supplement that has studies showing it does work. However, all other feed thru joint supplements are not proven. My vet feels that Adequan or legend is a better option, she says it won't hurt to feed joint supplements and MAY help, but no definitive proof. All my horses that compete or work hard get MSM daily but no other feed supplements.

WishIWereRiding
Dec. 4, 2009, 07:09 PM
If you are looking to save money, I would not spend it on Cosequin, etc. MSM I would (and it's cheap), and I think Adequan is worthwhile too.

Wee Dee Trrr
Dec. 4, 2009, 07:12 PM
When you do the math, I believe that Adequan is about $40 per month (after the loading dose) and you KNOW they received the ENTIRE amount. Get someone to teach you to do IM injections and you're set!

purplnurpl
Dec. 4, 2009, 07:47 PM