View Full Version : Selling websites
Derby Lyn Farms
Dec. 4, 2009, 03:39 PM
Which websites work best for you? I get the most responses off of dreamhorse and equinenow. Other websites just don't seem to work. Which ones do you LOOK at to buy horses and which ones do you sell on that you get the most response?
mlcoursin
Dec. 4, 2009, 04:06 PM
I look at warmbloods-for-sale.com a lot and that's where I found my most recent addition. But when I have advertised there in the past, I really didn't get a lot of responses. Equine.com is one I get the most responses from. I don't like dreamhorse (personally) so I don't look there much. And it also depends on what kind of discipline your trying to sell in...cause there are a lot of specific hunter, jumper and dressage websites. If it's hunter/jumper I know exchange is a biggie!
Derby Lyn Farms
Dec. 4, 2009, 07:41 PM
I have mostly tb's, a few wb's. I NEVER get responses off of Equine.com. I have always received more off of dreamhorse. I haven't used equine in years but maybe I should try it again?
patch work farm
Dec. 4, 2009, 07:54 PM
There was a thread a couple of weeks ago about this (might be on page 4 or 5 by now??). Many of us said what you have said...I put all of my Hanoverians on equine.com last spring, got very little activity so I put them on dreamhorse, got NOTHING and just put them on equinenow.com. They are getting viewed by only one inquiry for a lease. I have been told that my prices are reasonable by lots of people (I know I can't take pictures well at all, might be part and parcel of my problem) but it could also be the time of year and the economy. I have been surprised no one has even made an offer.
I used to use horsesdaily.com but now it has become too expensive and not as "exclusive" poor term but not sure how else to say it, sorry not trying to sound like a snob but it probably came out that way.
Someone responded to the other thread that they get tired of seeing the "same ol' horses for sale"...well, that is hard to change if that is what you've got. It might be that the person meant, new pics are necessary. I know that it doesn't matter what I do, my pics still stink, especially when I don't have help getting them done. But then, what do I know, most of my best horses I have bought sight unseen!!
Derby Lyn Farms
Dec. 5, 2009, 08:11 PM
Good pics are always so hard to get. I just took new ones, and the only one where he had his ears forward he was standing funky.
New pics do help. I've noticed that I am selling more horses locally then normal. I never use to be able to sell anything locally, always out of state or the country.
I must have missed the last post on this, I will try to find it.
Hiddenacresmi
Dec. 6, 2009, 07:22 AM
we breed and sell Hanoverians. I find my biggest referral source being the American Hanoverian Society and/or the Midstates Hanoverian Breeders website. Try working with your breed affiliations.
Another thought is just updating your own website with content that will draw more searches. A good marketing package from you website host can also assist you. I actually now get more and more contacts from people who just happen to land on my home page. Having said that make sure your home page gets their attention on what you have to sell!
Hope this helps.
Oakstable
Dec. 6, 2009, 07:58 AM
Photo quality is critical.
I am a good photographer and I work hard at getting pix of my own kids.
It is very difficult without help.
Pay someone to help you or to take the photographs.
I am trying equinenow.com and getting responses.
I think dreamhorse is a popular site and you need to have a presence there too.
okggo
Dec. 6, 2009, 08:18 AM
I'm using:
Equine Now (it's free photo ads - why not!)
Dreamhorse
Warmbloods-for-sale
Just recently sold 2 - one was by a referral, the other I'm not sure which site they started from, but ended up coming through my personal website. I get a lot of responses from Dreamhorse, followed by Equine Now. I've had ZERO from warmbloods.
I have huge photo albums set up on photobucket, with video clips - so I refer a lot of people to those, and also link those from our website. They get a lot of hits, so I assume people do actually look at them.
Oakstable
Dec. 6, 2009, 08:34 AM
I am using:
equinenow
dreamhorse
warmbloods-for-sale
freehorseads.com (photo ads not free)
I am getting queries.
To make the most out of multiple sites, you should have different but GOOD photos up on each of them. Hard to do.
You also need to update each of them at the same time if the price goes up or down.
acottongim
Dec. 6, 2009, 08:35 AM
I have horses on dreamhorse and warmbloods for sale. I've had more RESPONSES from dreamhorse, but has anyone else had the volume of "odd" emails from dreamhorse that I do? I get a lot of the "spam" emails (you know, I'll send you a check for more than you are asking just cash this cashier's check)? I also just got an email the other day off of dreamhorse that on the surface is fine, but there is something about it that just "sits" wrong with me. Esp when I google the name of the farm and it turns out that it is a million dollar farm that is for sale ... may be nothing, or may be something. It just seems that dreamhorse gives me more scammers and tire kickers. But it may be me?
okggo
Dec. 6, 2009, 08:41 AM
I have horses on dreamhorse and warmbloods for sale. I've had more RESPONSES from dreamhorse, but has anyone else had the volume of "odd" emails from dreamhorse that I do? I get a lot of the "spam" emails (you know, I'll send you a check for more than you are asking just cash this cashier's check)? I also just got an email the other day off of dreamhorse that on the surface is fine, but there is something about it that just "sits" wrong with me. Esp when I google the name of the farm and it turns out that it is a million dollar farm that is for sale ... may be nothing, or may be something. It just seems that dreamhorse gives me more scammers and tire kickers. But it may be me?
I've only had a couple - one was a one line e-mail "will you ship horse to X country for me" and the other was a note from (I assume) a child saying how pretty the horsies are. Other than that they have seemed legit, but I do get a lot of one liners that it's hard to interpret one way or another at first glance.
YankeeLawyer
Dec. 6, 2009, 09:28 AM
Sometimes when shopping I search youtube for particular bloodlines - both to research what horses from these lines are like and to see if any are listed as for sale there. I often come across a couple of interesting ones that are not listed on the sales sites I look at (mainly WFS, equine.com, and dreamhorse). Just be sure to include some ind of contact info (at least an email address) in your video and/or its description so that people can find you. There are frequently ones stating the horse is for sale, but without any indication of how to contact the owner!
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.