PDA

View Full Version : Jumping Position Help

Be True Blue
Dec. 2, 2009, 03:29 PM
Hey Everyone!!
I need some serious help/advice with jumping. The horse I've been riding for 2 years now, lands very hard after jumping. Throughout the years, I've picked up a bad habit of bringing my body up too early (opening my hip angle before he lands). I think I do it subconsciously to prepare for the landing and to not feel like I'm going to pop right off. When I look at videos of me riding, I personally think it looks horrible; taking away from that soft natural look. I really only do it when my horse is strong/ fast or if the jumps are a little bigger. No matter how hard I focus and think about it, it just doesn't happen!! Lately I've been working on grabbing mane and forcing myself to stay closed for a stride or two after the jump, but my body just keeps on coming up!! Any excercises/ advice that would help kill this bad habit?
Thanks!

AddingStrides
Dec. 2, 2009, 03:41 PM
My trainer puts a pole about 6 feet? out from the fence on the landing side and has me make sure I don't open my hip angle back up before we cross the pole. That helps a lot. But of course you have to make a big effort not to look at the pole, and to keep looking straight ahead way out in front. So the pole's just a minor reminder for you mainly as you approach the fence. :)

KateKat
Dec. 2, 2009, 04:35 PM