PDA

View Full Version : supplements for ulcers and gaining appetite

forestergirl99
Nov. 30, 2009, 11:31 AM
My gelding has recently stopped finishing his grain. Sometimes he eats half of it, sometimes most, and sometimes hardly any at all. My trainer told me to put him on a supplement that will help prevent and buffer ulcers incase that is the cause. He hasn't been showing an signs of ulcers other than not finishing his grain, but he is a nervous horse that is in pretty heavy training so it is a possibility. I have no experience with ulcer or appetite increasing supplements though. What do you suggest?

Also, I can't afford to spend more than about $30.

Thanks guys!!

BeastieSlave
Nov. 30, 2009, 12:51 PM
$30 a day? That would be UlcerGard!

tBHj
Nov. 30, 2009, 01:42 PM
$30 a day? a month? a year?

If you have a tiny budget what happens when you have to take your horse to the vet hospital because of ulcers?

Has your horse been scoped for ulcers? Too many people start treatment without even knowing if their horse has ulcers.

alteringwego
Nov. 30, 2009, 02:15 PM
Ulcergard and Gastrogard are by far the best but very cost prohibitive. My only other recommendation is a prescription dose of U-Gard. Can purchase from A to Z Vet Supply. I lay it to them and it definitely works. Any of my traveling horses get this when the owners can't afford Ulcergard/Gastrogard. Also, supplement with alfalfa and allow free choice hay.

lizajane09
Nov. 30, 2009, 02:21 PM

If you have a tiny budget what happens when you have to take your horse to the vet hospital because of ulcers?

Has your horse been scoped for ulcers? Too many people start treatment without even knowing if their horse has ulcers.

Agree with the first part.