PDA

View Full Version : Selling Woes...WDYD?

NeverEnd
Nov. 30, 2009, 11:34 AM
I've been marketing a pony online for about two months now. Received quite a few hits; however, after I respond to email inquiries and tell interested buyers to call me to further discuss, their interest then stops. The tally so far is eight potential buyers lost.

My intention is to weed out the window shoppers, but coincidentally am I driving away potential customers by requesting that they call me for further information? Or have they all been just that: window shoppers with no real intention of purchasing?

What do you do with online inquiries? Do you prefer to speak with buyers directly or is incessant emailing acceptable? And to what point?

Thanks in advance for your input!

Smiles
Nov. 30, 2009, 11:55 AM
If they cannot call you to make an appointment to see your pony than they were never interested in the first place. If you feel you are scaring them away then ask for their phone # so you can call them instead and see what happens...

magnolia73
Nov. 30, 2009, 11:56 AM
I think a lot of people prefer emails to calling. Perhaps have an email ready to go that provides more details about the pony- show records, maybe some extra photos, details not in the ads- then you can cut and paste and save yourself time, even if you'd prefer the phone call.

LeeB10
Nov. 30, 2009, 12:05 PM
Post a link to a video of the pony as well. Pictures, video, extra details all help, especially in times like these.

Beam Me Up
Nov. 30, 2009, 12:14 PM
I think you'll always get more inquiries than visits (since most buyers email a bunch, then mapquest and settle on a few to try), you probably aren't doing anything to drive them away.

I usually do email back, though. At least the simple questions you can get out of the way, and then add your number to the bottom if they'd like to discuss further.