PDA

View Full Version : I need a saddle recommendation plz!

Empressive Award
Nov. 29, 2009, 11:38 AM
I am in the market for a NEW saddle. I am on a budget and have some requirements, but I'm not sure which brand to look at because I'm fairly new to the Jumper scene, but plan to actively compete this spring.

I am currently riding in an all purpose with a more dressage-y type flap, but the seat kind of dumps me forward, which makes finding my balance quite difficult. I originally bought it to get through the winter, but I dont want o sacrifice my riding and have to start all over again in a new saddle trying to perfect my position and balance.

I am partial to Stubben (I like the way they feel and they seem to hold their value if well cared for should I decide to sell it), and I've sat in a few Pessoas. The instructor I am riding with has mentioned Antares and Devoucoux which is definantly out of my price range for the time being, but I might be able to swing a USED one in my price range if nothing else fits me.

I have TB mare, coming 5, who is of course going to be changing in shape over the years and thru conditioning, but I'm more concerned about fitting merather than her as she's pretty average...meaning a medium tree fits her perfect and have never had any issues with saddle fit from a saddle straight off the rack. Lucky I Guess??

Anyways, I currently ride in a 17.5 in seat, but my upper leg measures closer to 18.5 inches, and my lower leg measures closer to 16 inches, which makes flap position and stirrup length/bar placement an issue. I prefer a deeper seat, but anything will do as long as I can get up out of it to get in 2 point or jump. I need something that will get my legs under me and keep me away from the "chair seat" (particularly with my long upper leg) that some models are infamous for.