PDA

View Full Version : Newbie wanting to event- need suggestions advice etc

greeneyelioness
Nov. 27, 2009, 08:38 PM
Hi All
Every since I was little I have wanted to Event and now I am going to start training with someone so that I can. However, I am new to Eventing and would like some advice/suggestions about it, generally speaking. I rode Jumpers most of my riding life but nothing major to speak of. Now that I am in my mid 30's I want to make my dreams happen so any advice about it would be great. What should I expect to pay now for low level events? Please tell me any thing and everything, good and bad but please be aware that this has always been my dream so be kind.
Thanks!

asterix
Nov. 27, 2009, 10:20 PM
I don't think we need to "be kind" -- there are TONS of us who started eventing in our 30s or later who are now having a total blast at a whole variety of levels.

Get a good trainer, find a horse to lease or borrow, get out and groom for someone at an event and go volunteer a couple of times.
You'll be hooked. It's a blast, it's a very friendly sport, and it is addictive.

For lower level events, you could probably expect to pay anywhere from 80 bucks for an unrecognized event to 150+ for a recognized event, but if you have never evented before, you can happily entertain yourself learning the ropes for a while before getting to the point where you are ready to fork over for entry fees.

have fun!!!

The only "gear" you will really need starting out is an approved helmet that fits, a medical armband (available for 10 bucks or so from Bit of Britain or Dover; you can print out the form itself from www.useventing.com), and a safety vest for going xc. This last thing is best tried on in person to get the fit right before buying (just like a helmet, really). Certainly you can borrow one for a while from a barnmate your size.

CookiePony
Nov. 28, 2009, 10:38 PM