PDA

View Full Version : P90X anyone done it?

twcolabear
Nov. 26, 2009, 04:39 PM
After stuffing myself on turkey this weekend I am planning on starting on p90x workout regiment. It looks hard but I think my horse will thank me for it Afterwards. Has anyone tried it? Wants to join me?

Long Spot
Nov. 26, 2009, 04:41 PM
What is it? Link? Description? I need to get my ass in shape.

Simkie
Nov. 26, 2009, 05:03 PM
Yes, I've tried it. Was great for a couple weeks. Totally kicked my ass. Found it hard to stick with, though. Went and joined a gym instead.

glfprncs
Nov. 26, 2009, 05:42 PM
I'm in my 3rd round, so I've been pushing play with P90X for 8 months. LOVE IT! Seriously, it's the first time in my life where I finally feel in control of my fitness and health. Love, love, love the program. I despised working out prior, and I cannot stand going to the gym. This was a win-win for me.

In fact, I've blogged about it here:

http://personalsweatequity.blogspot.com

You can see my first 90 day pictures here (click on my story/transformation):
http://beachbodycoach.com/nancyschwert

glfprncs
Nov. 26, 2009, 05:59 PM
Longspot...here's a youtube video that shows you a bit about P90X:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OIyjnyHj1mk&feature=channel

The program is based on the premise of 'muscle confusion.' You get your muscles used to a certain type of workout, then throw some new workouts into the mix every 3 weeks, so that you don't hit that horrible plateaus. There are three different programs that you can follow: Lean, Classic, and Doubles.

Lean consists of 2 days of strength/ab training, 1 day of core training, 2 days of cardio, and one day of yoga. I would recommend Lean if you're not already fairly fit.

Classic consists of 3 days of strength/ab training, 2 days of cardio, and one day of Yoga. Classic will get most people the best results. Even if you're not horribly fit, you can do classic, but will need to modify some moves at first.