PDA

View Full Version : writing sample?

lionstigersbears
Nov. 26, 2009, 04:26 AM
Ok, I know this is random, but maybe someone can give me some advice.
Say I was a college graduate applying to some internships with magazines that asked for a writing sample. What kind of sample should I send? I haven't written any articles, but I have numerous essays/papers on various topics from university (I studied English Lit and History). Most of the essays are 10-30 pages long and are entirely academic responses to a thesis statement. I also have some 'creative writing' that I work on just for my own enjoyment (you know, that novel I'm never going to finish). Should I send the academic sample as it shows that I can write intelligently? Or a fiction work that shows I can write creatively? And if I do send an academic sample, should I only send a couple pages (something tells me they won't be interested in 15 pages on insanity in Victorian England) and how should I decide where to cut it/what part should I send (the intro? some meat from the middle? the conclusion?)

Help please! I feel like I'm drowning and am isolated from anyone who could help :confused:

gettingbettereveryday
Nov. 26, 2009, 08:06 AM
OK, I guess it depends on what magazine you're applying to in order for me to give you concrete advice. If you're aiming low (COTH or something similar, or some locally-produced magazine), maybe you have a chance. If you're aiming high (Atlantic Monthly, Vogue, etc.), forget it.

Now for the even harsher reality check:

Given the state of journalism right now (not good) and given the fact that you have zero actual journalism experience (if all you have is essays or creative writing samples), you're going to have a hard time getting a magazine internship, period. There are literally hundreds of kids coming out of excellent undergraduate and graduate journalism programs who are writing in the form and who have excellent samples and who are hungry for internships and jobs.