PDA

View Full Version : Trainers: If one of your former horses was just pulled from the kill pen...

Kelly in NJ
Nov. 23, 2009, 07:05 PM
Hi,

I am new to the racing forum...

If you are/were a trainer, and a horse that you formerly owned and/or trained was just rescued from the kill pen at an auction, (or was in immediate danger of going to slaughter) would you want to know?

Is there a chance that you would want the horse back if he/she had fallen on hard times?

I'm curious because I am planning on volunteering with a group that goes to a local auction and tries to find homes for the horses that are headed for slaughter.

I thought it might be a good idea to research the tattoos of the TBs and try to contact any former owners or trainers to see if they might want to adopt the horse back, or if they might foster or find the horse a new home. Do you think this would be well received? Or would some/most trainers be insulted if they were contacted?

Thank you so much for your opinions. You just hear so many stories about horses going to slaughter when there was a former owner who would have taken them back, but had no idea of the horse's bad turn of luck.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated! Thank you again!

Laurierace
Nov. 23, 2009, 07:38 PM
I don't know of any rescue that pulls horses from the kill pen that doesn't contact owners and/or trainers of the horses they rescue so you aren't exactly inventing the wheel. Its met with mixed emotions, some are horrified and can't wait to do whatever is necessary to make sure the horse is in a safe situation and some couldn't care less. I personally would definitely want to know.

Las Olas
Nov. 23, 2009, 07:39 PM
I would take the horse back, reimburse the rescue's expenses and be very grateful that someone was paying attention.

EquineRacers
Nov. 23, 2009, 07:41 PM