PDA

View Full Version : Yearling conformation

lrkrame2
Nov. 23, 2009, 08:56 AM
What do you guys look for when looking at yearling's for racing prospects?

What conformation faults cause you to run away, and what ones can you live with?

I went and looked at one on Saturday and of course he had his faults but since I'm new in the "buying a baby" process I wanted some outside opinions..

I will post some pictures of this baby for you guys to eval. later on today.. He was cute- going to be big ( already 15.1-.2 ish) but is sportin some cow hocks and other fun things.. However the price is fairly inexpensive... I will post a few pictures later..

LaurieB
Nov. 23, 2009, 09:26 AM
I look for an athlete. The first thing I want to see is a really great walk. I also like a horse that looks bright and interested in his surroundings.

I know neither of those things are about conformation specifically but it has been our experience that an athlete with the right temperament can compensate for all kinds of physical flaws on the track.

So if I liked other things about a yearling enough, I can't think of any particular fault that would be a deal breaker for me--though I suppose that a combination of several different problems in the legs and feet would probably make me think twice.

lrkrame2
Nov. 23, 2009, 09:30 AM
He was extremely sweet and easy to handle. I have to get a cord for my camera because I wanted to see him on the 'big screen' before I make to many comments on his movement but it looks decent enough..

Here is the link to the photo's.. the farm was nasty, and you'll have to look through the thick winter coat cause he lives outside with a few 'grown-up' horses. http://yearlings.shutterfly.com/26

Its hard looking at yearlings because they're in a funky growth and development stage so I know to keep an open mind in that regard...

KentuckyTBs
Nov. 23, 2009, 10:17 AM