PDA

View Full Version : How to find a groom job

Arrows Endure
Nov. 22, 2009, 01:38 PM
Hi guys. I'm new in the Fair Hill, MD area, and I'd love to find a job as a groom for one of the racing barns around here. I have plenty of horse experience and have worked with many different types of horses. How do you go about finding a position like this?

I considered just going out to the track in the mornings, but then I figured the trainers were busy then and might not want to be bothered at that time. Is there a good way to see who needs help?

Thanks for any suggestions!

Polydor
Nov. 22, 2009, 03:04 PM
I personnaly haven't checked it recently but might try yardandgroom.com

Good luck.

P.

KentuckyTBs
Nov. 23, 2009, 01:14 AM
You would probably be better off trying to get a groom position on a breeding farm than one right on the track. Just an idea. I am a yearling groom at a TB farm and love it.

DickHertz
Nov. 23, 2009, 01:59 PM
Find someone you know who has access to the backside and go around starting at about 10:30 and ask people if they need help and / or ask them if they could shadow for a week (an extra hand). The only thing worse than a lazy groom is a groom who doesn't know anything about taking care of the horse.

tbracer65
Nov. 23, 2009, 02:03 PM
Find someone you know who has access to the backside and go around starting at about 10:30 and ask people if they need help and / or ask them if they could shadow for a week (an extra hand). The only thing worse than a lazy groom is a groom who doesn't know anything about taking care of the horse.

I agree with Dick...definitely shadow somebody. You can have all the horse experience in the world, but if you have no tb experience (track) it's like starting from ground zero & while most things, in general, are the same...every trainer has their own 'way' they want things done. (one example being sweat wraps...some want the plastic overtop cotton & then bandage whereas others want it overtop the "outside" bandage).