PDA

View Full Version : Hind Boots in XC

LSM1212
Nov. 9, 2009, 04:01 PM
Are hind boots for XC really necessary for the LL's (BN and N)?

Eventer55
Nov. 9, 2009, 04:11 PM
Here's my opinion FWIW and I'm no expert. I put front and hind boots on my horse even if I go out for a quiet hack. If I tally up all the money I spend on lessons, trailering, and competitions, not to mention when I go xc schooling on my own and all the other various things I spend money on; do I want to risk the odd ball squirrel spook, car back firing and my horse decides to step off the road into a ditch resulting in 12 stitches.

Not me. I plan on hunting after my last event and so boots go on every time.

Janet
Nov. 9, 2009, 05:22 PM
I only use boots if I have studs in.

Allagash's mom
Nov. 9, 2009, 05:45 PM
I use them but if you have a capable horse, they probably aren't *needed*. But there's always that what if.... and all it takes is scrapping the front of the hind cannon over the top of the fence to lose a LOT of hair and skin.

retreadeventer
Nov. 9, 2009, 06:43 PM
Using boots should not have to do with what level you are riding, but what kind of a jumper your horse is. If you're unsure, or if he's the kind of mover that might wack himself on a jump, for heaven's sake, protect him!
I have learned the hard way to protect my horse's precious legs even if walking out the barn door (anything can and does happen.) I even had back boots on him once, to do a XC round, but sweat made them slip down, and I didn't re-adjust after warming up, and he got in close to a jump and banged his hind leg and cut it just above where the boot covered the cannon bone - if I had taken the time to reset the boots he'd have been fine. I'm a boot proponent, mostly because I have had the math pounded into me - $50 pair of boots CHEAPER than $400 vet bill for stitches and 4 weeks off....

eventingismylife
Nov. 9, 2009, 08:01 PM