PDA

View Full Version : How did you get your Eventing (Lessons and Training) barn established?

Rescue_Rider9
Nov. 7, 2009, 09:50 AM
I want nothing more than to be a trainer. I have some experience giving lessons. Just little kid lessons when I worked for a trainer a while ago and am currently teaching my neighbor to ride on weekends I come home from school (for free. I am still an ammy), but when I gradutate college I want to open my own farm and start teaching people to ride and compete and board horses and train. Obviously I know that right now I am no expert. I have a seven year old I did all the training on (ground up. I got her as a baby out of a field) and we are jumping 3'6, but I wont take her above BN until next fall. It did take me a while to train her, but I know now what it takes to get a horse going well and I CAN actually do it! ha I am hoping to work under my current trainer at school, who is also our schools equestrain team coach, when I am senior to learn more about this business and what not.

Obviously I know that its going to be hard, but how did you bring in clients if you werent some super star at eventing.
I am slightly one up on most people because I have my own barn already and I have a small pony and an old Been there done that guy to give lessons off of and hopefully my pasture pet who needs to be worked will be a good school horse when i have the time for her (my current show horse will be off limits for a while..). Anyway sorry to drag on, but what does it take to get everything started?

jn4jenny
Nov. 7, 2009, 05:52 PM
Well since nobody else bit, I'll bite. ;) I am not a trainer but I'm a client who's tended to work with younger trainers. What seemed to help them most--besides the obvious qualifications of good teaching ability, good work ethic, honesty, and decent business sense--were the following: