PDA

View Full Version : Teaching Student to Canter....

Equestryn
Oct. 30, 2009, 02:01 PM
Please don't ream me for asking this but here goes...

I have a 10 year old student who is very dedicated and works very hard at all aspects of horse riding and care. She began riding in August and was an absolute brand new rider. She's very quick to catch on and is doing very well at the walk and trot. She's posing without moving her hands, she's got the hang of diagonals, two point, sitting trot, etc. I feel it's time for her to move up to the canter.

As a side note, I've been teaching for several years but this is my first year as a trainer with my own string of lesson horses. I have taught at other stables who've had a string of mostly quarter horses or ponies. I have all thoroughbreds. Two are absolutely beginner safe and I wouldn't think twice about putting any student on the two of them, however they are large thoroughbreds with large thoroughbred canters.

That being said, she has attemped the canter in the round pen on a lunge line twice now: once on one of the totally beginner safe TBs with a massive canter and she fell off. She got back on and trotted around but was too shaken to try a canter again. The second attempt was yesterday afternoon on one of the greener TBs with a really smooth canter. He's perfect at the walk and trot but when she cantered, she began to panic which in turn made him panic and made him a little difficult to stop.

The green horse is not safe at the canter so he's out of the picture. The other two TBs are just so big, it makes me nervous to put her on them. Should I just have her ride the smoother of the two?

Any methods that make learning to canter a bit easier on the student? At the moment, I have her grabbing mane and getting in a little bit of a half seat so she's with the horse with weight in her heels but not laying all over his neck.