PDA

View Full Version : Apart from reducing dust, why water ring first, then drag, instead of vice versa

ljc
Oct. 29, 2009, 08:40 PM
I'm still new to having my own ring but I'm curious as to why it's always first water, then drag, with a sand ring? I understand the reducing dust part, but any other reason? Got mixed up on my sprinkler schedule and did just the opposite and I actually liked how the ring rode better that way! It seemed to pack it down better, which is better for my purposes (bringing back soft tissue injury as well as using ring for miniature horses, who do not need any depth at all!)

Dune
Oct. 29, 2009, 10:32 PM
I'm still new to having my own ring but I'm curious as to why it's always first water, then drag, with a sand ring? I understand the reducing dust part, but any other reason? Got mixed up on my sprinkler schedule and did just the opposite and I actually liked how the ring rode better that way! It seemed to pack it down better, which is better for my purposes (bringing back soft tissue injury as well as using ring for miniature horses, who do not need any depth at all!)

I think you answered your own question. :winkgrin: The other thing is not "just" dust control, but that "dust" is really your footing slowly disappearing, so watering first also helps to preserve your footing.

Go Fish
Oct. 30, 2009, 02:11 AM