PDA

View Full Version : Anyone ever gotten an animal vaccine in your eye?

Luckydonkey
Oct. 28, 2009, 10:22 PM
I have successfully vaccinated my own animals for years, an tonight for the first time ever I had a needle basicly explode off the syringe, and the vaccine went straight into my face an my eye- it was a basic yearly dog shot, killed vaccine.... I did wash my eye good, and have put some eye rops in too...anyone ever do anything like that?

greeneyelioness
Oct. 28, 2009, 10:39 PM
I'm a vet tech and I "vaccinate" myself all the time. My doctors do too, to themselves or me. It happens. I get stabbed and splashed almost every week. :yes:
You did right by washing out your eye. If you have any dizziness or start feeling nauseous or twitchy, call your doctor right away. If you were going to have a reaction it would have happened by now and you wouldn't have been able to write your thread.
In the future, always make sure the needle is twisted on tightly and when you are pushing the plunger, steady pressure and slow is always better unless you have a crazy patient.
Also be careful about at home vaccines. We have had a lot of clients buy online or from supply stores and the vaccines are grossly out of date or may not even be what they were for. We had one client bring in the box and the actual shot and asked us if they were the same thing. Besides the box not being the shot, they were both out of date. :eek: Luckily, she did not give the shot.

shakeytails
Oct. 28, 2009, 10:55 PM
I might be worried about lepto, and the intranasal strangles, but I really have no idea if they'll actually hurt you.

The first thing that popped into my mind when I read the title was "It's all fun and games until somebody puts an eye out!" :lol:

greysandbays
Oct. 28, 2009, 11:37 PM