PDA

View Full Version : Looking for trainer for trail in NoVA

gingersnap
Oct. 26, 2009, 05:18 PM
Hello,
I have never posted in this forum before, but I am hoping you can give me some advice. I have a 13 yr old Arab gelding and I am looking for a trainer in Virginia who can help me train him for trail riding. His background is Junior Hunters and he has done some cross country, but not with me. I am only a very limited and timid trail rider. Most of my horse life has been in dressage with some quiet hacking on my old horse. My current horse cannot really pursue dressage any more. He is fairly quiet --- most of the time. And good in company. I now just ride him in the ring and a little bit in the field at our farm. I have some fairly easy local trails and I thought it might be a new challenge for both of us.
But I feel like I need some help. I am looking for someone to either come to my farm in No. Virginia or I could bring my horse there for boarding/training. I am very new to this and would appreciate any advise or suggestions.
Thanks, Ginger

GallopingGrape
Oct. 26, 2009, 06:29 PM
Dave Yauct, 540-229-4255. I can't say enough about him. He is amazing.. and he is very very concerned that both you and your horse are trained. He won't just take your horse for a month, charge you a big fat fee and hand him back. He's amazing and reasonable!!!

ytr45
Oct. 26, 2009, 06:51 PM
I would really urge you to purchase Clinton Anderson's "Correcting Problems on the Trail" DVD. This is an awesome DVD that will educate you far more than sending your horse off for trail training. If you need additional help after you work through the exercises on the DVD you can still get help. Good Luck!

Golden Pony
Oct. 26, 2009, 10:13 PM
Second recommendation for Dave Yauch Practical Equine Training.com

Foxhound
Oct. 26, 2009, 10:55 PM
Leslie Gottesman, Miles of Smiles Training in Lovettsville, VA. Her web site is www.milesofsmiles.com

jnel
Oct. 26, 2009, 11:07 PM