PDA

View Full Version : Boarding Question! Update post 15!

starkissed
Oct. 22, 2009, 09:02 PM
I started boarding my horse at this barn in Jan. However I am a student so from May to mid August brought my horse home. I sort of chanced it on the boarding situation hoping they would have a stall when I came back. And luckily they did.
But I am going to bring my horse home for Xmas break, which is about a month. At my previous barn there were tons of x-tra stalls and the BO was nice and didnt have me pay at all while I wasnt there for a month.

I realize that it would be in the realm of 'normal' for the barn to want me to pay some sort of fee while my horse and I aren't there for 1 month. But my board includes $300 to the trainer and $450 for board- so $750, but write 2 different checks.
I think its kind of dumb for me to have to pay the 'training' fee when I'm not there. And even the whole boarding price is kind of steep considering you dont have to feed or clean a stall for my horse.

SO I am kind of wondering #1 what I should do and #2 what should expect to pay. I dont want to come off as cheap, but like said, I'm a student and I work my butt off to pay for this place because the cheaper barns in the area caused my horses injuries and illness.

I don't want to talk to the trainer because she is big on exaggerating (like she will say there is a huge waiting list when there isnt one at all) and she will automatically say that don't have a choice about the training fee (i know this because I had to pay the full training fee when I was boarded for only a half month). Instead I was going to call the Owner of the property and talk to her (after all she is the one getting the 450 check)

PLEASE help me. I am not that experienced, only 20, and new with dealing with people and their business.

wsmoak
Oct. 22, 2009, 09:18 PM