PDA

View Full Version : USPC A's and B's tell us about yourselves

Eventingjunkie
Oct. 8, 2009, 12:37 PM
I would love to know how many COTH Eventing forum members achieved their Pony Club A, HA, or B ratings and what they think of their experiences. My daughter will be elgible to go for her A rating in two years, and is already nervous as heck. She thought the B was pretty tough, and as an observer I would have to agree. She says she will go for the HA for sure, but may wait quite awhile to ride for her A if she does it at all.

So first off, who are the A's and B's? Then any suggestions for those hoping to rate up in the future.

jredmon
Oct. 8, 2009, 12:44 PM
I am a graduate A pony clubber. I was in PC in Texas in the 80's and 90's. I did my HA and A in the same summer the last year I was eligible. It was quite a summer because I had to do the required preps too. And NONE of them were offered in Texas that year. So I went to Illinois for my HA prep, then VA for my A prep (rode borrowed horses). Then to Ogden, UT for my HA test and Louisville, KY for my A test.

It is a VERY challenging test - but if you do the work and have the ability to always answer the question "why" - it is attainable.

I still list my achievement on my resume. It is a big deal and certainly one of the biggest goals I achieved in my youth. (Now that I have two kids - they sort of rank as my biggest achievements!)

Good luck!

tbeventer
Oct. 8, 2009, 12:53 PM