PDA

View Full Version : Please recommend a good trainer in WA

moonlightride
Oct. 7, 2009, 03:42 AM
I am looking for a trainer who works with students from training level and up. I have read some bad reviews about a couple of trainers on here and would like to know who the good ones are. There's tons of websites/etc and I need to make a list of who sounds patient/honest/and actually teaches the horse and rider and does not use tons of gadgets and makes the rider yank on the horse's mouth.

stryder
Oct. 7, 2009, 10:46 AM
Where are you located, and what are your goals for the rider/horse?

UnoIsMyHorse
Oct. 7, 2009, 11:01 AM
My trainer is Allison Allbaugh, in Eatonville. She is the very best. She is very patient and works with all levels of students. She is currently riding her appy mare at 4th level. Her website is www.majesticsporthorse.com and I highly recommend her to anyone. I am rather new to dressage and never had any formal training when I started riding with Allison. After 2 months in training, I rode my OTTB at our first ever dressage show. We entered 2 classes and took a 2nd and a 3rd! And this was a horse that wouldn't canter when I brought him to Allison. She really takes the time to explain things so that I can understand them.

Tiligsmom
Oct. 7, 2009, 12:00 PM
Everyone has their own ideas of "good", so we'll need a bit more information about you, your needs, your preferences, location, etc. in order to make more informed recommendations. What one person thinks is "good" - another will think is dreadful!

That being said, below are some options:

Olympia Area:
Kari McLain, USDF Gold - www.miaristables.com. Kari has a long track record for helping her students move up the levels.

South Puget Sound: