PDA

View Full Version : competitive pony hunter

ponyglamorama
Oct. 6, 2009, 10:55 PM
O.k.....I am a novice pony mom. How much should one expect to spend on a lease for a competitive small pony hunter? How much should one plan on paying for commissions, insurance, shipping, etc,? Does the one trying pay for shipping? Does one typically pay for insurance while trying? HELP!!!:confused:

Sugarbrook
Oct. 6, 2009, 11:02 PM
Your trainer should handle that for you. She (or He) will know and advise you.

ponyglamorama
Oct. 6, 2009, 11:07 PM
great...but i'd like to be a little bit knowledgable too...or i wouldn't have asked.

MHM
Oct. 6, 2009, 11:25 PM
Generally, if you take an animal on trial, you are responsible for all costs associated with it leaving the property where it lives. That would include shipping, board while you try it, any additional insurance needed, and any vet or farrier bills it incurs while you have it.

If you lease it, you would pay a lease fee plus all the bills on it while you have it. You should discuss the commission with your trainer before you shop.

Welcome to the BB, and good luck! :)

spmoonie
Oct. 6, 2009, 11:31 PM
In general, a lease is 1/3 the purchase price of the horse/pony and commision for the trainer is 10%.

How fancy are you talking about? Pony finals winner or just competitive?

ponyglamorama
Oct. 6, 2009, 11:36 PM
thank you so much! say your lease is 20-30....what would one expect to pay in commisions, and is it always expected that one pays insurance? or is that included sometimes... just wondering ? thanks

quicksilverponies
Oct. 6, 2009, 11:40 PM
Commission is usually 10%. Insurance would probably be your responsibility. The overall lease depends on the quality and level of experience of the pony. If it is a younger pony needing show miles - you might not be expected to provide as much. If it is a high quality, been there, done that type of pony, you will be expected to pay insurance, shipping, commission and all expenses.