PDA

View Full Version : Roll call...

Let's all introduce ourselves and any program that we may work with. I'll go first...

I am an occupational therapist and work at NARHA Premiere Accredited Somerset Hills Handicapped Riding Center in NJ. We offer adaptive/therapeutic riding, equine assisted speech, occupational and physical therapy (hippotherapy), school programs, equine assisted psychotherapy, therapeutic driving and seasonal vaulting. I work with NARHA and AHA.

It's great to have a forum that focuses on riding skills for those with disabilities and the challenges that riders with special needs face.

Penthilisea
Oct. 6, 2009, 09:46 PM
Well, I have fibromylagia and am 90% healed from chipping my spine in a silly fall. I also worked as a volunteer at two of the local handicapped riding centers, both as a side walker/warm body and also as a more hands on instructor for high functioning riders. My TB did a stint as a therapuetic mount for riders who were learning to canter and do small cross rails. I also have experience in driving that I want to share with the paraquestian community if possible.

Ellie&Werther
Oct. 6, 2009, 11:04 PM
My name is Ellie, I have cerebal palsy, that effects primarily my left side. I used to do low level hunters up to 2'6. I am currently riding dressage and classified as a Grade III para FEI rider. I just started riding dressage and spent my first season doing training level. My plan is to do the grade III novice test and first level dressage next year.

Wayside
Oct. 6, 2009, 11:52 PM
Hello everyone!

I have Ehlers-Danlos Syndrome (http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/bookshelf/br.fcgi?book=gene&part=eds3) , Fibromyalgia, and Pernicious Anemia.

These days I'm taking dressage lessons on my Anglo-Trakehner mare, but I have also done hunters, jumpers, eventing, driving and a whole lot of trail riding in the past.