PDA

View Full Version : How do you change your ride between stadium and CX ?

NewbieEventer
Oct. 1, 2009, 10:21 AM
One of the posters on another thread mentioned that they ride stadium completely differently than they do cx...and I've heard that from various people many times before, just never explored it in detail. I'm not sure that I ride these 2 phases all that much differently. I may ride a bit more fowardly/less "compact" in between cx fences, but generally approach fences in the same way whether it be on cx or stadium (try to establish steady, forward rhythm and "leave the horse the hell alone" as my trainer puts it)...but then again, i'm still a new-ish novice-level rider.

Do you ride stadium and cx differently? What level do you start noticing the need to change your ride significantly between the 2 phases (obviously will be less need to change the ride for BN vs. advanced) ?

deltawave
Oct. 1, 2009, 10:34 AM
My horse can get really flat and lazy with her toes in stadium, so I have to ride the WHOLE COURSE (ideally) thinking "uphill, uphill, balanced, forward, hocks engaged" or she will begin diving and pulling rails. She also can feel rush-y but is not naturally fleet of foot, so I can't be too slow, either. For me, stadium is fun and I don't stress out about it much, but it's a challenge in that I have to ride EVERY INCH of the course with Bonnie.

On XC, she is much, MUCH more respectful of the jumps and so I don't have to worry so much about concocting the perfect ride. I just have to keep her from pulling and getting on her forehand, and she's very good about finding the jumps and doesn't mind going forward to them at a good pace. If there are combinations, I have to really help her, because she's not sure of herself if there's a lot going on visually. This isn't a problem in satdium, but if there's a lot to look at out on XC she can peter out and get worried. So a different, supportive ride there.

NMK
Oct. 1, 2009, 10:51 AM