PDA

View Full Version : Using a whip

archieflies
Sep. 27, 2009, 08:10 PM
Ok, I need some tips on how each of you learned to use a whip effectively before a fence. I cannot do it. I have been riding for 15 years now and just cannot use a whip correctly. Of course, I haven't needed to until my current horse. She's the kind that gets behind your leg and slows to a stop (an un-dirty stopper) from time to time (only at shows, of course), and if I could just manange to reach back an give her a tap, there would be no problem. But I can't.

Today we had a stop on XC, ruining an otherwise wonderful, fun round. It was actually the easiest, most straightforward ramp, but there was a long uphill gallop to it, and I just didn't manage to keep the power going. My trainer asked afterwards why I dind't use my whip, and that was honestly the first time I even considered the option. I am so uncoordinated with the whip that it never even occurs to me to use it!

So if I ever want to have a clean XC, I need to learn to use the whip. But my mare never stops at home, and I hardly think it's fair to practice using the whip when I don't need it and she's done nothing wrong...

Any tips, suggestions, exercises, etc for building hand-whip coordination over fences? I can use it fine on the flat, it's just when I'm a few strides from a fence that my coordination fails me.

luise
Sep. 27, 2009, 08:21 PM