PDA

View Full Version : Looking for your opinion: School master or young'n?

Carrera
Sep. 26, 2009, 11:23 AM
I'm looking for some pros and cons here. I am looking to buy a dressage horse (with about 20k of funds). I have a list of what I need: reg'd mare, over 16hh...

I have found some interesting young horses around the 3-6yo mark, some have shown others not yet. High quality, very nice horses. But they are green.

I have also found a mare that is showing 3rd, schooling 4th, in my price range, but is 16yo.

I'm torn. I know that I would have (most likely) a less frustrating time with the school master, as I am relatively new to dressage (did hunters for 20 years now dressaging for 6months).

I have a great coach that will be helping me with this, but I am looking for what others may think.

I have brought along MANY young horses over the years, hunter yes, but I still know what has to go into them and the challenges that will come up.

Petstorejunkie
Sep. 26, 2009, 11:39 AM
My vote is c. Lease a schoolmaster for 1-2yrs then buy a nice 1st level horse
I get too attached to vote school master and I think you'll have a nicer time not having to learn, then train your greenie

slc2
Sep. 26, 2009, 12:04 PM
A third or 4th level horse isn't a schoolmaster. A schoolmaster is a grand prix horse that a student can learn on. Depending on who's talking, there are various levels of mercy and accomodation that a schoolmaster should have. Depending on who you talk to the schoolmaster should be either very tolerant and sort of try to figure out what you want and give it to you, all the way to the hell-no type schoolmaster who is just as demanding and precise as the best trainer, and perhaps almost as pissed off when the rider would fall short, LOL.

So, you think riding a dressage schoolmaster would be less difficult than a young horse?