PDA

View Full Version : please educate me

amadee
Sep. 24, 2009, 03:24 PM
I'm new to dressage, my background is cutting and working cow horse. I do not live in an area that is a mecca for dressage so finding instruction is like looking for needles in a haystack. Someone sent me an ad for a local instructor who is an FEI level rider "German training system".....what does that mean? Honestly I just want the basics, starting from square one.....best way to find a suitable instructor? I do clinic a few times a year with a person who is (I believe) a more classical instructor but I need more steady instruction throughout the year to stay on track.

Thanks

Valentina_32926
Sep. 24, 2009, 03:30 PM
Perhaps post your general location and get recommendations. We have a German trainer in our area and she's NOT for me (I took 1 lesson with her and realized this). I actually asked around and went with an event rider trainer for a while (who really knows her dressage) until I could find an upper level trainer/rider.

German trainers have learned through an established system but that doesn't mean they're great trainers - just good riders. At the lower levels (First down to Intro) I believe almost any decent instruction will be OK augmented by good clinics.

dbadaro
Sep. 24, 2009, 03:45 PM
i think you can go to the usdf or usef website to find trainers in your area

InsideLeg2OutsideRein
Sep. 24, 2009, 03:51 PM
You still have to go see the trainer, ask if you can go watch him/her teach a lesson, and ask questions afterwards, talk about your goals. You can get a good sense, but really you won't know until you try, unless it's an absolute no-go from what you observe.