PDA

View Full Version : Help with feeling the hind legs?

Mabelicious
Sep. 21, 2009, 08:45 PM
This may sound very foolish, I don't know. I clearly am doing something wrong, or maybe NOT doing something RIGHT, or something. I should preface this by saying I am very new to dressage, and have only ridden huntseat and "goofy teen anything goes" in the past. So all the lovely, fine-tuned dressage business is quite new to me.

My trainer asked me a few weeks ago to just relax and feel my horse walking beneath me, and to try to feel when each of his hind legs were leaving the ground. She told me to close my eyes, and then say 'up' when I felt my left hip lift forward. Well, it turned out that I was feeling my left hip lifting forward when my horse's left FORE lifted, not his left HIND. My trainer seemed very surprised; apparently my hips should be moving with his back end, not his front end.

Ever since then, I have been trying everything I can think of to feel the back end instead of the front end. Relaxing my seat more; relaxing my seat less. Thinking 'figure-8' with my hips; thinking 'side to side.' Sitting back on my pockets more; getting up off them. No matter what, when I close my eyes and identify what feels to me like my left hip coming up and forward, when I open my eyes and look down it is in sync with his left fore. I can't seem to sync up with his left hind!

I'd love any thoughts or suggestions COTHers might have for getting my seat in tune with his hind end. I hope to have a friend come out this weekend and lunge us, so I can close my eyes and have her say 'up, up, up' in time with one hind leg rising, so I can try to feel it without the distraction of steering (not to mention I just would really love a lunge lesson; nothing reminds me exactly how much work my balance needs like closing my eyes!). But any tips I could take with me into that lunge session would be greatly appreciated!

Come Shine
Sep. 21, 2009, 08:53 PM